Long December

Counting crowsOne of my favorite bands is the Counting Crows and my favorite song of theirs is a “Long December”. When I hear that song I realize It’s been a long December and I am hoping maybe next year will go by faster than the last. I hear other people talk about how fast this past year went for them, but for me… time just seems to drag. When you are not doing what your heart desires, the days just seem longer. I just want to start farming now, but I know I can’t just yet and must be patient, that day will come soon enough.

As I keep wishing that day will get here fast, I keep telling myself to slow down and enjoy this time now… hold on to theses days before they pass. My life is really good right now, my marriage to my wife is going great and I love spending time and doing things with her everyday. My health is good with no issues to speak of, other then maybe losing some of these pounds that I have picked up over the holidays. We have really enjoyed spending time with family and friends who are dear to us this past holiday season, so what I am saying is my life couldn’t be any better except if I was farming now. I  just need to keep reminding  myself to savor and relish this time in my life, enjoy each day and look at this time as a gift. I have lived long enough on this earth to know, life doesn’t always go so well. I know there could be bad times again and I will look back on these days with fond memories.

So I am hoping this past year was as good to you as it was for us, but if this has been a long December for you and you are hoping next year will be better than the last, take heart, bad times don’t last forever.

As we look forward to planning what will do on the farm this coming  year , my wife and I want to wish all of you well this New Year,  and please enjoy this video of the Counting Crows “Long December”.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a retired conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I now live in and have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I have built from the ground up. My wife and I are trying to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Long December

  1. Zephyr Hill says:

    Happy New Year! I know that 2.5 years seems like a long time to wait . . . All I can say is, with all the practice your patience is getting, you should be the most patient person on earth by the time the Big Day arrives! (By the way, is July 8 your birthday? Is that why you get to retire then? Because it’s mine, too.) You’re so wise to look at your life today and realize how happy you are. We should all do that more!

    • Thanks Susan, I get a lot of practice being patient at work as well. I deal with at least a 1000 people a day and there are always a few who try my patience. My birthday is January 8, if all goes well I plan to retire at 59 1/2.

  2. langela says:

    I find it hard to be content with what I have and where I am sometimes, too. I’m glad your holiday was good and you enjoyed time being “papa”.

Leave a comment