We Have a New variety of Apple.

I am so happy to see some of our apples trees starting to bloom here in south central Iowa, especially this tree. This tree was from a graft I did from a wild apple tree growing in a ditch along a gravel road Northeast of the town of Newton Iowa. One of my readers had told me about this tree and we went there to check it out and was not disappointed. It had the most beautiful little red apples that were very sweet. So I went back during the winter and collected some scion wood and grafted them to some rootstock that I had grown from seed the following spring. This is the first year it has bloomed, I named this new variety after my wife and I call it Niki Sweet. We can’t wait to get a bunch of these to try again.

This is one of the apples from the wild tree.
This is the wild apple tree that we got the scion wood from by the town of Newton.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a retired conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I now live in and have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I have built from the ground up. My wife and I are trying to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Tree tubes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We Have a New variety of Apple.

  1. John Sangl says:

    Nice update. Would love to see an update on the pond – it looks great in the background of your orchard!

  2. Jewels says:

    Oh Gordon, I just got your last post in my email and I’m SO sorry to hear about everything. I can imagine a bit of what you may be feeling and my heart goes out to you. Please take care! πŸ™πŸ’™

  3. Thank you Jewles, you have been my most faithful reader and my very first follower.

  4. Gordon, I’m so sorry to hear your sad news about the end of the dream, especially after this lovely post. In a different way, I understand the grief of “letting go of the life you planned for the life that is waiting for you.” I wish you the very best as you grieve what is lost and what won’t be. May you find true healing. Best wishes, Susan

  5. Thank you so much Susan take care

Leave a comment