Starting To Think About Farming

Milligans Gander Hill Farm Plow

As I am taking a break from working on our house I started thinking about our garden this coming spring and how I would plant it. This will be the first time we have planted a garden here and will have to break sod to do it. I found this 2 bottom plow on craigslist and thought this is what I needed to get us started. Milligans Gander Hill Farm Plow

This way I can also put in a food plot for deer hunting. I am starting to collect a few implements, but still need a few more.

Milligans Gander Hill Farm Implements.

I have to buy a disk next so after you plow you run the disk over the ground to break up dirt clods. I also would still like to buy a loader for my tractor, so if any of you know of a disk for sale that has a 3 point hitch and is 6 or 8 ft wide please let me know. With all these implements laying around its starting to look like a real farm around here. 🙂 Here in the country you see these farms with all kinds of farm implements in the yard, mine are just a little smaller.

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Starting To Think About Farming

  1. Zephyr Hill says:

    How fun! Farm toys! 🙂 I know you’re going to have fun working & playing with them!

  2. Alfie is so jealous of your toys!!! He wants to come play!

  3. Bill says:

    Breaking one’s own ground and growing one’s own food–great feelings. Hoping you have an abundant harvest.

    Let me just throw out an alternative to plow and disk. I use a spring harrow (we call it a “jitterbug”) to break the ground and a rotary tiller driven by the tractors PTO to prep the soil. Some years I don’t even use the jitterbug. I use a bed-shaper to form up the rows, then knock down the tops with the tiller or a garden rake. I prefer this method to using a disk, but that will certainly work. Looking forward to reading about your garden!

    • Thanks for commenting Bill, I have seen your gardens and wish my will look as good as yours. The rotary tiller is the way to go but I went with the plow and disk route mostly because of money. a good used tiller around here is around 2000.00 and a good disk only about 500.00. So thats the basic reason and for the food plots I just want to disk the ground and not plow it up because that would make it too soft when wet. I hope to maybe get a rotary tiller someday because they do a much better job compared to what I have.

  4. steve says:

    You really can’t beat raising & growing your own food Gordon. It’s not only the satisfaction one gets, but the flavour is so much better as well. We were almost completely self sufficient here for a few years until the kids came along (now I barely have time to breathe, let alone grow our own crops, lol). I’m sure you’ll find it really rewarding.

    • Thanks Steve, I know what it like raising kids they do take all your time. As much as I love my children I am so glad I am done with that. I have grandchildren now and love having them around and when we get tired we send them home. We are really looking forward to starting our garden and raising livestock to becoming more self sufficient. Its going to be a busy year but a fun one as well.I hope you get back to raising more of your own food again too, you are right it is so much better tasting and very satisfactory.

  5. John Swift says:

    Just a suggestion, if possible you could try and rent a disk from some local farmer. Even better you could trade something for it’s use. It seems a waste for how much you’re actually going to use it.

Leave a Reply

