Its Deer Hunting Season In Iowa

My first deer on our farm.

My first deer on our farm.

I took some time off from working on our home to hunt deer this fall and in just my third time in my tree stand I was able to shoot a big ten point buck. I used my 50 caliber Kentucky rifle and it was during the early muzzle loader season here in Iowa. dsc00202

This deer was well over 200 pounds even after I field dressed him. He was so heavy I could not drag him out of the woods myself. I had to go get my wife who was not too happy to help. Iowa has some of the best whitetail deer hunting in the world with lots of record bucks taken here. I have hunted lots of deer in different states but have never seen bucks this big. I have also not seen better deer hunting than what I have here on our farm and I have seen more deer than I have ever seen in just sitting in my stand 3 times. Our farm isn’t the best for farming but it has world class deer hunting. This deer will score close to 170 and those of you who follow this blog saw a 184  scored buck taken off this farm last year.

This buck was harvested off our land this year from a friend that I let bow hunt. The deer scored 184 ponts.

This buck was harvested off our land last year from a friend that I let bow hunt. The deer scored 184 points.

The deer hunting is so good in Iowa that a lot of people who live out of state try to say that they are residents here so they can hunt. If you are not a resident it is very expensive to hunt deer and there is a lottery drawing to get an out of state tag. Before I could buy a hunting license here I had  to prove I lived here for the last three months and had to provide a copy of my drivers license, utility bills, property tax bill, a recent pay stub that shows I have been paying state income taxes for the last 90 days.  You also have to have a copy of your vehicle registration, and a copy of your lease or property agreement. I provided all of that but the state still had a DNR officer come out to our farm to make sure we were building a home and not just living in our camper. I asked the officer that showed up here why they go through such a tough process to get a resident license and he told me they have lots of people who buy land here just to claim they are full time residents.

It has been a long time dream of mine to move from Chicago to start our farm here in Iowa and I am so glad to now be living that dream.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Its Deer Hunting Season In Iowa

  1. Karen Brewer says:

    I am so happy things are going good for you and your wife. Nice deer too!

  2. purlygirl2 says:

    The things I do for love…😘

  3. Ricky Umphryes says:

    Wow a deer hunting paradise. I missed a deer last Saturday in my tree stand with a bow. I am hunting on my neighbors property across the road. It is 85 acres. Finally our addition is going on our house here in Mo. Glad to hear everything is working out ok. That is really something about proving residence.

    • Sorry you missed your deer Ricky, sounds like you have a great spot to hunt. I will bow hunt next year, I didn’t think I would have time this year with us working on our home. Glad to hear your addition is going on your home, I know you will be glad when its done, just like us.

  4. langela1 says:

    Nice buck! After seeing your place, I’m not surprised you got a big one. I’m a little jealous of your views, too, this time of year. 🙂

  5. Thanks Langela, every time I look out our windows I feel so blessed to own this land, it really is beautiful here.

  6. jessmooreweb says:

    What a remarkable deer. Looks like you’ve found the honey hole, cant think of a better place to build a home

  7. Joe camill says:

    Gorden good for you brother.
    I stumbled on your sits looking for bar plans,gonna use your layout thanks much. Great deer also.j

Leave a Reply

