We Have Finally Moved In

This is one of the bathrooms we have done so we could move in.

This is one of the bathrooms we have done so we could move in.

We have moved into our house even though it is not nearly done. With the temperatures getting down in the lower 30’s F a few nights ago that was all the reason for us to go ahead and get in the house, even though there still  tons of drywall dust we are enjoying being in the house.

Its so nice having a regular sized shower to take a shower in instead of our camper shower.

Its so nice having a regular sized shower instead of the very small one in the camper.

We have gotten a lot done since my last post. We hired a company to do the drywall, than my wife and I painted the whole interior of the house in 3 days with a paint sprayer we borrowed from my brother Danny. The light fixtures, receptacles, and switches are all in and now we are working on the trim. We also have been putting down some vinyl flooring in the basement and this stuff really looks great. My sister Becky suggested it and I didn’t think I would like it because I remember when it first came out, but t has come along way since then.

The vinyl flooring we have started putting in the basement.

The vinyl flooring we have started putting in the basement.

We have come along way from when we broke ground on April and I didn’t know if it would be livable by winter but we have made it.

I have been waiting two years to get this cool chandelier up

I have been waiting two years to get this cool chandelier up. Some of our light fixtures where bought when we still planned to build a log home.

This bed is set up temporarily until we get some carpet in the bestment bedroom thats coming on the 24th of this month.

This bed is set up temporarily until we get some carpet in the basement bedroom that is coming on the 24th of this month. My wife was annoyed at me for taking this picture with her still in it.

This is the basement bedroom will will move into once the carpet arrives so we can start doing the wood flooring on the upper level.

This is the basement bedroom will will move into once the carpet arrives.

My wife wanted to paint the basement walls so they don’t look so plain and I love how it has turned out.

dsc00189

This is 1100 sf of 8 inch pine tongue and groove flooring and once it acclimates for at least a week will will start to lay that.

This is 1100 sf of 8 inch pine tongue and groove flooring and once it acclimates for at least a week will will start to lay that.

As you can see its a work in progress and that is about it for now, thanks for looking. keep posted for new updates and below are a few more pictures.dsc00184

The start of the downstairs bathroom. We still haven't found a vanity that we think will go in there.

The start of the downstairs bathroom. We still haven’t found a vanity that we think will go in there. We are looking for an antique dresser that will make into a vanity.

Master bed and bath still has a way to go.

Master bed and bath still has a way to go.

 

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Buildng our home.. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to We Have Finally Moved In

  1. jack carey says:

    Thanks for up date! Figured you two very busy with winter closing in. How excited for you , keep info coming.,

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    Wow, amazing progress! So glad you’ll be tucked up nice and warm when winter hits! It’s really looking wonderful, and you must have such a great feeling of accomplishment!

  3. Jocelyn Cromwell says:

    Your new home looks amazing! I love the amount of light that enters. I cat believe he amount of work you have gotten done. Congratulations

    • Thank you Jocelyn, that is one thing I really wanted was a lot of natural light coming in. I hate dark rooms that you have to have a light on. All that natural sun light keeps me from getting depressed especially during the winter months.

  4. Congratulations and best wishes in your new home! You’ve achieved so much since April…. we are 13 years in our house and there are still jobs to be done!!!!

  5. Becky says:

    You both have done a great job, looks beautiful

  6. Lisa says:

    Wow!!! You HAVE made big progress!! Must be a great feeling to be IN it…..even though it’s not finished yet!! Looking forward to more pics and progress reports!! Great job!!

  7. Carol says:

    Looks fantastic, Gordon. Nice job.

  8. Jewels says:

    It’s looking good Gordon! 🙂

  9. langela1 says:

    Tell Nikki that at least you didn’t take one with her still in the shower! 🙂 I’m so glad you guys are in. I bet it feel like you live in a mansion after being in the tiny trailer for so long!

  10. purlygirl2 says:

    I hate having my picture taken. My skin crawls the same way it does when I see a spider.

Leave a Reply

