Pelican Brief

dsc00161

I am always amazed of the variety of wildlife we see on our farm. Yesterday we had over 500 Pelicans stop by our pond on their southern migration. They only stayed and rested one day and where gone this morning.

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pelican Brief

  1. Lisa says:

    What a wonderful sight to see!!! Lucky you were there on that one day and didn’t miss it!! Enjoy!!

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    Your post title is brilliant! 🙂 What a marvelous sight!

  3. James Grinder says:

    A sure sign fall is here. How’s the house coming? Are you buttoned up for winter?

    • Thanks James, we are all buttoned up for winter, we have all the drywall hung with two coats of mud on. If all goes according to plan we will the drywall done Wednesday this coming week and we can start painting.

  4. Jack says:

    More, need more! Keep up dates coming.

  5. Mcflowergirl says:

    That is so cool! I come from the gulf coast of Florida where pelicans were something you saw every day. I never even thought about them migrating. What a nice gift for you and your family!

  6. jeff says:

    First time poster. Long time watcher. I discovered your site several years ago while looking for tips on building a bar. At that time I discovered your blog. I believe then you had just planted some trees and had some flooding if memory serves me correct. I never did get the bar built yet, but I have been following your progress since and it is great to see it all come together.

    Anyways, I never knew pelicans came this far north. That surely would have been a neat site. Things are looking great so keep the updates coming!

    • Thanks Jeff for commenting, glad to have you following my blog. I have a new post coming soon with an update of our home build so look for that. I never knew Pelicans came this far North too an till that day, it was amazing. If you ever do start your bar let me know and I will try and help the best I can. Until then thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

