Making Progress

Building our home

This is a picture that was taken about a week ago. We have been working 7 days a week and have been real tired  after we get done each day and have not been keeping you all up to date. All the pictures in this post are a week behind, I meant to send them last week. As you can see we are making progress.

Are windows and doors have also arrived. Pella windows are made in Iowa so they were an easy chose for us. We got a great deal on them and if others want good windows at an affordable price call John Mc Donald from.

Our windows and doors have also arrived. Pella windows are made in Iowa so they were an easy choice for us.

Post Protectors

I have been busy building our own columns using 3 2×6 treated boards

Once we get our house wrap on then we will start to put our windows and door in. We should get them in by the end of the week if the weather co-operates.

My nephew Roy Jr came two weeks ago to help his Uncle. It was real nice to spend some time with him, he is so much like his Dad, my brother.

One of my passengers that rode my train everyday stopped by the farm on her way back to Chicago from Kansas. It was great to see Tammy again she is a good friend and I do miss Friends we left behind.

One of my passengers that rode my train everyday stopped by the farm on her way back to Chicago from Kansas last weekend. It was great to see Tammy again she is a good friend and I do miss Friends we left behind.

Buying fish for our pond.

We stopped in Osceola Iowa to buy fish for our pond. Blyzo fish farm goes to all the towns in southern Iowa and if you call them and order your fish you can meet them at a town near you when they are scheduled to be there.

In this bag we have a hundred baby large mouth Bass. We also bought 100 channel cat fish and 3 grass carp.

In this bag we have a hundred baby large mouth Bass. We also bought 100 channel cat fish and 3 grass carp.

That’s it for now, I have added some more pictures below of the past week.

This is Jeremy Bellon who is doing the framing.

This is Jeremy Bellon who is doing the framing.

More up to date pictures will soon come.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Buildng our home.. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Making Progress

  1. Lisa says:

    Great progress!!! It must be so exciting and fulfilling to be building your new home!!! Thanks for the update!!!

  2. Scott Soof says:

    That’s awesome coming along good. Thanks for the update. We miss you over here also.

  3. mike says:

    Lookin’ good!

  4. Wow! You are making great progress.

  5. Tamicia Coleman says:

    It’s coming along nicely – it was great stopping and seeing you both. Enjoy the views!

  6. Susan Lea says:

    Fantastic progress, Gordon! I’m so glad to see everything moving ahead so well! And how neat that a former passenger stopped by to see you–it shows you’re missed. 🙂

  7. langela1 says:

    The kids and I are heading to Des Moines tomorrow for a Dr. appt. Maybe we’ll stop by on the way home, depending on time… and whether or not I forget. It’s been known to happen once in awhile!

    Everything looks great at your homestead, Gordon! If you get the chance, send me a message with your new number. Keep up the great (exhausting) work!

  8. Bill says:

    Excellent! Glad to see things coming along. What an exciting time for y’all. And it’s great that you’re stocking the pond! You’ll be fishing before you know it.

Leave a Reply

