Weathering Storms

This is a storm front that moved over our farm Friday halting work on our house.

This is a storm front that moved over our farm Friday halting work on our house.

Well we have been getting lots of work done on our home even though we had two days where we got rain.  I am satisfied with our progress with only about 3 and a half days worked.

Storm front Milligan farm

I thought the storm clouds were pretty cool and ran and got my camera.

Building our home

As you can see by the picture above our home is coming along nicely. We have started on the second story and as you can see we have our roof trusses ready to go up once the second story walls are done.

We have been so tired at night once we are done for the day. Being 60 and not doing very hard physical work these last 17 years lets me know I am not nearly as strong and have the stamina as I once did. This type of work lets you know how out of shape you really are.  I think by the end of summer I should be in better shape. I am even starting to develop calluses on my hands and I wouldn’t change anything. I feel so alive here in the country and  am always amazed by the landscape and wildlife we see every day.

Thursday this snapping turtle stopped by to take a look at what was going on. He seemed surprised to find a big house blocking his way. He was trying to get to our pond from some where across the road. He stood there looking at us work for about an hour I finally had to pick him up and point him in the right direction on the other side of our house. After I set him down he looked around and finally went happily on his way.

That’s it for now.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Buildng our home.. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weathering Storms

  1. Jocelyn says:

    Loving your updates. Thanks once again for sharing and letting me live vicariously. You and your wife inspire me to live my dreams.

  2. Tamicia Coleman says:

    Great progress! Can you PM me your phone # & maybe directions to your farm? I may be passing by that way very soon and would love to stop by and say “hi” to you and Niki

  3. Susan L Lea says:

    You’re making amazing progress! If you don’t want the rain to halt your work, how about if you send the next storms our way? We are SO dry. 5″ down for the year. 😦 Those are beautiful storm clouds! I’m one who will stop in the road and carry a turtle across, but not sure I’d have the nerve to pick up a snapper. One bit my hand when I was a kid, so I admire them from afar.

  4. Thanks Susan, sorry to hear about your drought there in Georgia. I wish I could send you some of this rain, we got rained out here again today. Oh well the rest of the week is supposed to be dry.

    I too was a little afraid to pick up that snapper but I felt sorry for the guy, he seemed confused and I had put a house where he apparently had crossed before.

  5. langela1 says:

    The pictures of the clouds are very cool, Gordon! I was so sick of the rain last week! After today, it looks like we’ll be dry again for awhile. I know what you mean about feeling your “age” when you work hard. I notice it even after the winter. It feels so good and nothing is as satisfying as sitting down after a hard day’s work! You get to make all those old person noises but for a good reason! 🙂

  6. jack says:

    OH WOW! you don’t waste time…u got a lot done. ..fun to follow u all. Keep up dates coming…

  7. Bill says:

    Those pictures of the sky are great. Beautiful. Of course I’m sorry the weather slowed you down, but it sounds like you could use a break now and then. It’s been very cool to see you making the transition. Looking forward to seeing what the future has in store for y’all.

Leave a Reply

