Morel Mushroom season and home building in Pictures.

DSC00051Here in Iowa it is morel mushroom season and we have found a few and have made a little more progress on our home. I thought I would just show in pictures of whats been going on, so here they are.

Rainbow at our farm

Rainbow at our farm

This picture reminds me of a song by Deep Purple. Smoke on the water with fire in the sky.

I woke up to this sunrise the other day. This picture reminds me of a song by Deep Purple.
Smoke on the water with fire in the sky.

The guy who is doing our septic system also is the one who is running our water to the house. We now have water at the foundation.

The guy who is doing our septic system also is the one who is running our water to the house. We now have water at the foundation.

DSC00059

DSC00057

DSC00058

Insulation is in.

We laid our vapor barrier and have put down our under slab insulation as the concrete crew is ready to start our pour. Who knew Duck Dynasty did basements.

After about an hour and a half the concrete is hard enough for the finishing crew to smooth the slab and then score the concrete so when the concrete cracks it will crack on the scored lines. This is all done the same day the slab is poured.

DSC00070

We are supposed to wait for at least 5 days before working on the slab but I couldn’t wait any longer and started building the landing when you walk in the front door.

We are just living a dream here, hope you all stick around to see how it all turns out.

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Buildng our home.. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Morel Mushroom season and home building in Pictures.

  1. Lisa says:

    It’s late for morels here in Ohio , but my husband found enough to put in a roast !! Glad to see the progress on your dream home! We’re still working on the floorplan for ours and haven’t started it yet. We’ll be building a barn home on 12 acres here in Ohio. Seeing your progress helps remind me that it will happen for us,as well !! Thanks for the updates!

  2. Yes, I look forward to seeing it turn out. Is there an under floor area by the looks of it? Is that where you will go in a tornado?

    • We will probably go to an interior closet on this first level if we were going to have a tornado but we could go under our landing there if we have a direct hit from a tornado.

  3. langela1 says:

    He does look like Willie (Duck Dynasty), doesn’t he?

    It’s nice to see the progress you’re making!

  4. Susan L Lea says:

    Fantastic, Gordon! You guys really have found the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow! I’m so happy for you and the progress you’re making!

  5. Aaron says:

    Is the angle just deceiving or is the basement only about 4 feet tall?

  6. Bill says:

    I’m so jealous of your morels Gordon. It’s great that you have them on your place. I’ve been searching for them every year since I was a kid and have never found a single one! (Here we call them “hickory chickens”) Beautiful rainbow and sunrise shots. Glad to see it’s all going well!

  7. Thanks Bill, I didn’t find them on our place but wish I did. A friend took me to one of his spots. I wonder how they got the name “hickory chickens” do you know Bill?

Leave a Reply

