More Progress On Our Home.

Walls are poured

As I sit here in our camper today listening to the rain outside beat against our camper, it gives me a chance to get you all caught up on our progress.

As you can see from the picture above we now have our walls poured.  Niki and I have also put in our waste lines that go under the slab and are just waiting on our  basement contractor to come back and put down pee gravel and then we will put our ridged insulation on top of that before they pour the slab.

Putting up our concrete forms.

We are off to a good start and we hope the rest of the build goes as well as it has so far, but by the looks of the weather  forecast it may be awhile before this rain will stop enough to dry out.  I highly recommend our basement contractor  Cambron & Thacker Construction they are truly professionals and great to work with. http://iowaconcreteindianola.com/

Niki and I also had a chance to get down to our creek and catch some more game fish to stock our own pond with.

we trapped some blue gill, bass, and minnows the we released into our. pond.

we trapped some very small blue gill, bass, and minnows that we released into our. pond.

 

 

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Buildng our home.. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More Progress On Our Home.

  1. Susan L Lea says:

    Oh, my goodness, Gordon, please send that rain our way! We’re 2″ short for just this month and more for the yearly total rainfall. 😦 That would make us both happy! But I am very happy for you to see your progress!

  2. Ricky Umphryes says:

    Looking nice. going to my property in Mo. next week. Still have to put my home in Wis. on the market.

  3. Jeff Martin says:

    Very nice Gordon! Keep informing the progress it’s inspiring.

  4. It’s exciting, Gordon!
    Thanks for commenting on my blog. If you want a chance to win the contest we need a piglet number from you for the tiebreaker. I hate to see you out of the running before it even begins!

  5. Gwen says:

    I’m glad you went with Cambron and Thacker. They’ve put in all of our basements. Your place looks great!

Leave a Reply

