The House Has Finally Sold!

This past Friday we just put our home on the market to get ready for our move to Iowa.

I am happy to report after signing a contract to sell our home with the same buyers since September 25, we have finally Closed. I am happy and sad all at the same time. Happy that it is done and we don’t have to keep  paying the mortgage, taxes and utilities and worrying if the place might get broken into while no one was living there. Sad because we really liked our home and had done a lot of hard work to it to get it the way we wanted. My wife and I really enjoyed our life together there and will always have fond memories of living there. We have always said if we could take it with us to Iowa we would, we liked it that much, but sadly that’s wasn’t possible.

Now that that’s done it won’t be long until we move to Iowa, I just hope the rest of our journey goes a little smoother then this did.

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The House Has Finally Sold!

  1. Gayle says:

    Congratulations! I’ve enjoyed following your story. We have also experienced delays and heartaches in our “life change” quest. It’s been 2 years of up and then down and disappointments. But we are still moving forward and it’s inspiring to see that there is “a light at the end of the tunnel!”

    • Thanks Gayle, I appreciate you letting me know you enjoyed following along on our journey. Its nice to know others are doing similar things and are experiencing ups and downs too, but it doesn’t stop them from their goals. It keeps me motivated.

  2. Jewels says:

    Yay congratulations on finally closing on the sale of your home! Best wishes going forward!

  3. Excellent (though sad) news…. onward and upwards from here. (Have you seen how in New Zealand people actually do move their houses to new locations? very strange)

  4. Leslie says:

    Congratulations! I’m still in the dreaming phase for our get away from it all ideas! So happy for you! Keep up us updated – some of us are living vicariously through you!

  5. Gordon, I’m SO happy for you! And I totally understand your sadness. It took us 18 months of incredible hassles (many with the same people who ended up buying it) when we sold our beautiful Victorian home after we moved here. I used to cry every time I went there to check on it, but all the hassles made it so that by the time we actually sold it, the relief overrode the sadness. I was still sad, though, and I will always love that house. It was my dream home–until I found out that living on a farm was my real dream! But if I could bring that house here today, I would! 🙂

    I trust that after so many ups and downs, the only way to go is UP! I can’t wait to hear about your next adventures ON YOUR FARM! You have a great outlook on things, always looking for the positive side, and that’s going to stand you in great stead for this next stage in your lives. All the best to both of you!

    • Thanks Susan, you really do now how we feel. I couldn’t imagine taking 18 months to sell your house, but I am sorry to hear you had to go through that. People don’t understand the stress unless you have gone through it.

  6. Zephyr Hill says:

    Oops, sorry, that was me!

  7. grasspunk says:

    Well that is some great news this Thursday. Congratulations!

  8. langela1 says:

    Yippeee! What a relief to finally have that stress done with! I’m so glad for you guys. I hope you will fall in love with your next home even more and that it will bring you as many good memories, Gordon

  9. Kari McKay-Widdel says:

    Congratulations! Don’t forget to look me up when you are ready for Iowa Blue Chickens 🙂

  10. steve says:

    Congratulations Gordon. When I saw you’d written a new post I feared more bad news, but I was delighted to see things are finally going in the right direction. I’m sure when you start living your dream in your new house at your farm, any sadness about leaving your old house will disappear. Good luck

  11. Thanks Steve, the sadness has already diminished some. We are looking forward to getting to Iowa and start the building of our home. I hope things are going well with you too.

Leave a Reply

