Retirement Day is Finally Here!

This is me in front of the railroad retirement building on Rush St., downtown Chicago.

Here I am in front of the railroad retirement building on Rush St., downtown Chicago a few weeks back. I was going in to sign up for my retirement.

My retirement day is finally here, the last day I have to work. I thought this day would never get here. I have thought about retirement every day for the past several years and it has made time seem to move so slow. My official retirement day is going to be February 1, but with me using my personal days and some vacation time, I hope I won’t be working any in January. We won’t be moving to our farm until April because we don’t have a home built there yet and will be living in our camper while we build it. We hope the weather will be warm enough  by April to do so because our lease ends here at our apartment and we will have to move regardless of the weather.

This is a view from our apartment.

This is a view from our apartment.

Aqua Building

With the short time we have left here in Chicago we are really enjoying our stay at our apartment and taking advantage of going to some of  the great restaurants here.

Speaking of our home selling situation, the buyers have asked for another closing extension, and now want to close January 11th :(. This is it, if they don’t close then they lose their earnest money and we will cancel the deal. They say this will be it but we have heard that before. I will let you know how it goes. The only reason we have let this go on so long was because we know during the holidays the housing market is pretty slow.

So please stay tuned as we go on to the next station in life ( sorry about the railroad pun), it should start to get more exciting now.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Retirement Day is Finally Here!

  1. Wow, Gordon, I don’t know if I love this or hate it! I love that your retirement is here at long last! I hate like everything that your buyers have asked for another extension. You guys have been more than gracious! Your apartment has an amazing view, but I know you can’t wait for April when you can change it for peaceful countryside. You’re wise to enjoy the city while you can–and I truly hope that when you move to the farm in April, it’s the ONLY piece of earth you own! Happy New Year, and I’ll be eagerly following your 2016 adventures.

    • Thanks so much Susan, you are one the few who has been with me from the beginning. You are right, even though we are enjoying it here we can’t wait until we move to the countryside where it is very peaceful.

  2. langela1 says:

    Congratulations! What a way to start your new year–no work! Hopefully, now that the holidays are over, your sale will go through and you’ll be home-free for a few months. I’m so happy for you and look forward to meeting you two in person soon. Happy New Year, Gordon!

  3. grasspunk says:

    Congratulations man. I’m looking forward to watching the next steps out in the country.

  4. Congratulations on your retirement and good luck for the next stage in your journey. Looking forward to following your adventures on the farm. Happy new year!

  5. Bill says:

    Congrats Gordon! I know it must be a great feeling. May your closing go smoothly and may you soon be happily on the farm.

  6. Thanks Bill, it is a great feeling and I hope it all goes much smoother on the farm. I guess time will tell.

  7. Jeff says:

    Where did you move to in central Iowa?

  8. steve says:

    Congratulations Gordon. I hope moves goes well & I for one look forward to reading how your new, very different life continues. Good Luck

  9. Michael says:

    Hi Gordon, I just wanted to take a moment to congratulate you on your retirement! I found your blog back when you were looking at doing a post frame house, (something I’ve been tempted by myself) and I’ve come back from time to time as I enjoy your stories. It’s funny, I’m from neighboring Wayne county, but it took me a while to realize where you were planning to farm. Your earth tube post mentioned McCorkels which startled me as that’s a pretty small town reference point! I’ve enjoyed reading about your adventures: the chiggers, the log chain in the brush cutter, and all you’ve experienced here. Best wishes to you and your wife as you come to Iowa this spring!

    • Hi Michael thanks for checking out my blog, its been a real adventure so far and we even haven’t moved there yet. So we are looking forward to what comes next. You might like to know we have decided now to build the pole barn house. We can build it for much less then a log home and there is not any maintenance like a log home will have. I will do several post about that so you might be interested in that.

      You will have to stop by some time and say hi once we have moved there.

  10. Woody says:

    Congratulations! I’ve got a few years left before I can visit with the RRB but the retirement daydreaming still occupies my mind on an almost daily schedule. I’ll keep hoping that all your closing woes come to an end soon. It will be nice to see you get a headlong run at your new home construction. Take a break this fall and swing south for some Hootenanny action.

  11. Thanks Woody, I may come down and see you this fall if I get a break in construction. I am always ready for some Hootenanny action 🙂

Leave a Reply

