Housing Update

Just thought I would let you know the closing date on selling our home has now been pushed back one more week to Dec. 4th, because we have not heard back from the appraisal review committee. To give you all an idea how long we have been dealing with this, the contract was signed Sept. 20th. I am betting this will come back with no more value added on the appraisal and they think we will have to take it because now we don’t have any chance of selling it until after the Holidays.

Its times like this I need to think about what we are doing this for and this picture takes me to our happy place.

Its times like this I need to think about what we are doing this for and these pictures takes back me to our happy place.

When we were back at our farm this fall, we cooked all of our meals on an open wood fire and I must say everything seems to taste so much better.

When we were back at our farm this fall, we cooked all of our meals on an open wood fire in a cast iron skillet and I must say everything seems to taste so much better.

I feel much better now, and will let you know what happens.

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Housing Update

  1. Gosh, Gordon, I’m SO sorry! That’s such a bummer! But I’m so glad you have your happy place! Stay there, and this will soon be a distant memory. And yes, food cooked over the open fire does taste so much better! 🙂

  2. Bill says:

    Good luck. I get it. When I was still in my other life, yearning for the change, I used to load pictures from the farm onto my computer and let them run as a slideshow screensaver. When I needed to decompress I’d look at the screen and go back to my happy place. But eventually it all passed and we’re on the farm now every day. That’s going to be your story soon too. 🙂

  3. Fingers and toes crossed that this will soon be sorted…. keep thinking of your ‘happy place’…. you will be there soon.

  4. John says:

    It’s been fun following your progress the past couple years. Hope the appraiser gets it right this time! Have u had the place appraised by someone you or your realtor trust? That might help the whole situation. Usually can get for less than $400-$500 – not cheap but can give you solid ground to state your beliefs that the property is worth “X-dollars”. Good luck!

  5. Mark says:

    Hope all is good have not gotten on line for a while. Been off grid. Still working on farm will update blog as soon as wood is in for winter.
    Mark & Bev

  6. Thanks for checking in Mark, hope all is well and look forward to see what you have done there on your place.

Leave a Reply

