House Has Sold

This past Friday we just put our home on the market to get ready for our move to Iowa.

After being on the market for just a week we had 10 showings and two offers. The very first offer we received we ended up countering and they excepted. Now we are just keeping our fingers crossed and hope everything goes through. We have a closing date of October 15th.

Its going to be very hectic around here now, still lots to do and lots of hoops to jump through. There is the buyer inspection, the city inspection, us starting to pack, and me going down to the railroad retirement board to get set up so I start collecting my pension when I retire.

I am also still working on getting my window sizes for the log home and starting to look for a place downtown Chicago to move into until April 1 st when we move to Iowa into our trailer and start the building process on our log home. I am getting tired just thinking about it but wouldn’t have it any other way. Wish us luck.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Our Log Home. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to House Has Sold

  1. Carol Wiersma says:

    Gordon: Wonderful news. I knew it would sell right away. My husband turned 60 on the 25th of July, retired on July 29th and got his first pension check August 1st. You and your wife have a lot to look forward too. You deserve it. Hope to see you on the train before you retire. -Carol

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    Congratulations on selling your house, and I definitely wish you luck! We’re going through some hectic changes here, ourselves, so I definitely sympathize. But what a fun time! Please keep us posted!

  3. langela1 says:

    Wow, that was fast! I’m so glad for you guys. The busyness should help with the waiting.

  4. Bill says:

    Excellent news! Looking forward to following along on your journey.

  5. steve says:

    That’s super news about selling your house Gordon. I’m so pleased for you that everything appears to be going in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

