Finally Getting Closer To The Day I Retire.

This past Friday we just put our home on the market to get ready for our move to Iowa.

This past Friday we put our home on the market to get ready for our move to Iowa.

I am finally feeling the day  I retire and move to Iowa and start our small farm is actually going to get here. I am really getting excited, but we have lots to get done before that day gets here. What we have been doing lately is getting our home here in Illinois ready to be put on the market. Painting, fixing, and repairing various things, We also have been finalizing our floor plans on our log home and have been working with Barb from Meadow Valley log Homes. I have to say she has been very patient with me  always tweaking the floor plan. I hope to get that done by the end of the month.

This is our current kitchen,

This is our current kitchen of our home we are trying to sell.

When we bought the house it still had the original cabinets and appliances from 1964.

When we bought this house in 2010 it still had the original cabinets and appliances from 1964.

All hardwood floors on the main living area.

All hardwood floors on the main living area.

Dinning Room

Dinning Room

Milligans Gander Hill Farm

Sometimes I have a hard time sleeping when I start thinking about all the work that lies ahead, packing, moving and building our own home on our farm. I often wonder if this 60 year old body will be up to the task. I guess we will find out soon enough. Wish us luck in selling our house and if you would like to see more pictures and details on our house go Here.

 

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Finally Getting Closer To The Day I Retire.

  1. Jocelyn Cromwell says:

    Beautiful home. I bet it sells quickly. You and your family have it in you! Wouldn’t be the same great story you are letting this stranger follow and cheer you on if you were 20 years younger. Maybe put in the hot tub first!

  2. Thanks Jocelyn, I hope your right bout the house selling quickly and us having it in us to do all we have to do. I also think that’s a great idea about the hot tub and may have to put that in first. Thanks again for your encouraging words.

  3. langela1 says:

    Your home is beautiful, Gordon! It will be different living in a log home, won’t it? I’m so excited for you. Retirement is still a little way off for us here. You are so lucky! All your work will be worth it someday. Especially when you can sit out back of your new home and enjoy the beautiful quiet of farm living.

    • Thanks Langela, I really do feel lucky and blessed and sitting on our deck facing the pond and the forest is what I am so looking forward to. You will have to come over once we get there and get started, I would like to meet you and become friends.

  4. Bill says:

    Time probably feels like its dragging by now, but in a flash it will pass and you’ll be living on the farm. Best wishes for a quick and successful sale of your house!

    • Thanks Bill, I know you know because you went through something similar when you retired. I am sure when I look back on it after I retire it will seem like it flew by. But you are right, its dragging now.

  5. I’m crossing my fingers for your house to sell really quickly! It’s very nice. The farm really is getting close! Good luck with your house plans, I’d think that’s one of the most important parts and worth getting it “just so!” Look forward to hearing more.

  6. Paul says:

    Hello Gordon,
    Did you ever get a price to build the two story pole building with the awesome windows and external fireplace? I have a super acreage lake lot in Western WI that would love to build such a structure.

  7. Jewels says:

    So exciting to be putting your house up on the market, hope it sells quickly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

