Bar Roll

This great looking bar was built by Todd Kreykes I really like what he has done here.

This great looking bar was built by Todd Kreykes I really like what he has done here.

In 2012 I did a post called “How To Build Your Own Home Bar” and it has been so popular and hundred of readers read it every day and people have sent me pictures of their bars that they have built using my plans. The problem is that that post has gotten so big I now have a hard time adding any new pictures so I am doing this post to add those pictures I now get. So here they are, enjoy.

More pictures of Todd Kreykes Bar

More pictures of Todd Kreykes Bar

Todd Kreykes Bar

This great looking bar was built by Jessie Cutler, I like what he did with his fridge by building it into the wall, great idea.

This great looking bar was built by Jessie Cutler, I like what he did with his fridge by building it into the wall, what a great idea.

Here he has added some cards that are embedded into his epoxy bar top.

Here he has added some cards that are embedded into his epoxy bar top.

This great looking bar was built by one of my Face Book friends, A famous author John Everson.

This great looking bar was built by one of my Face Book friends, A famous author John Everson.

He did a very detailed post of his bar on his face book page so check it out, for some more ideas. http://www.johneverson.com/wordplay/diy-how-to-build-your-own-oak-home-bar/

He did a very detailed post of his bar on his blog so check it out, for some more ideas. http://www.johneverson.com/wordplay/diy-how-to-build-your-own-oak-home-bar/

This great modern looking bar was built by Alastair Heptonstall who is originally from Scotland but now lives in the states.

This great modern looking bar was built by Alastair Heptonstall who is originally from Scotland but now lives in the states.

This is a look at his shelving, great job.

This is a look at his shelving, great job.

another view at a different angle of Alastair's bar. To me this bar has that mid-century look.

another view at a different angle of Alastair’s bar. To me this bar has that mid-century look.

This great bar was built by Rubio Wolfgang. Great job.

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Building Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bar Roll

  1. I’m glad you’ve inspired so many people! Isn’t that fun? I remember that post of yours. May I propose a toast to Gordon’s bar blog post! Santé!

  2. Thanks Susan, it has been fun and you have been my most faithful reader. Like always I appreciate your comments.

  3. John Everson says:

    Gordon – your blog about building a bar was a huge help and inspiration to me. I’d almost never worked with wood at all before; I’m not typically a “handy” guy with my hands, if it doesn’t involve typing. But I really wanted to do this. I read and re-read your blog so many times during my project, it was silly. But that also gave me the idea to document my own progress… because I figured, if I could do it… anybody could — and I wanted to let other people like me know that. So thanks for the inspiration… I finished my bar a year ago now, and it’s made a huge difference for my confidence… and my basement! It’s now the centerpiece of our downstairs and has hosted many late night get togethers!

    • Thanks John I appreciate you letting me know my post was of some help and an inspiration for you. Its comment like yours that make me so glad I did this post to help others because that’s what I was hoping to do but never dreamt it would help this many people. Now if we could find away for you to help me with my writing skills 🙂

  4. Charlie says:

    Built my bar using your basic design but did change a few things I did it for about 300 so far all that’s left is shelves and staining/finishing

  5. Mike Schwartz says:

    Gordon – do you have any contact information for Todd Kreykes? The dimensions of his U-shaped bar are perfect for what I’m looking for! I’d love to hear how he put his together.

    Thanks for the great plan! I know I’m a little late to the party.

  6. Dave Stinsman says:

    This has been a wealth of bar ideas. Is there any way to get an idea of what people spent to just build their bars? Also how long it took them to build

  7. Gale says:

    Hi Gordon
    Your ideas for framing helped me create a beautiful basement pub. The final product was a little bigger than in your plans but that was what I was going for. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

