I Bought Rare Wine Worth Thousands At an Estate Sale for $4.00

Chateau d'YquemAs I prepare for the day that I retire (which is rapidly approaching) I have been getting the final touches on the floor plans for our log home done and we have been painting and working on our current home to get it ready to sell. I have also been biding my time by going to estate sales to look for tools to help when we start to build our log home this next April and for unique items that will give our home that old hunting lodge feel we are looking for. But some times you come across items that are completely off your radar and totally unexpected and that is what happened to me a few weeks ago at a high-end estate sale in Flossmoor Il. I ended up buying some rare wine that was worth $2000.00 a bottle for only $4.00

A 1950 Chateau d'Yquem and a 1966 Chateau De Briante

A 1950 Chateau d’Yquem and a 1966 Chateau De Briante are both French wines

We have all read or heard of someone finding a valuable item at garage sale that they paid next to nothing for and it turns out to be worth 1000’s of dollars like old paintings or some rare vase but I never expected I would be lucky enough to find such an item, until now.

1954 bottle of Chateau d'Yquem a white one from the Bordeaux region of France.

1954 bottle of Chateau d’Yquem a white wine from the Bordeaux region of France. These white French wines turn a beautiful amber color as they age and when I first bought them I thought they were red wines.

The only reason I went to this estate sale was because my wife wanted me to check out some wood carving tools that where for sale there. She wants to learn wood carving so she could carve things like bears and stuff for our log home. At this estate sale the home had a huge wine and liquor collection and most of it was high-end stuff like this wine and Glenfiddich Scotch and other liquors. I had never seen this much booze at a home before, there just wasn’t a bottle or two but cases of the same thing.  Much more than just the booze, the house was full of very nice things collected over 60 years by the old couple who had lived there.

Now me, I like a good glass of wine now and then so I bought 15 bottles of wine with the years ranging from 1950 to 1982. When I got home I started looking at the wine and the two Chateau d’Yquem bottles and I noticed the label said it was a white wine but these two looked like they were a very dark red. Well I thought I had just wasted $8.00 bucks because this wine had gone bad, but I thought I would do some research to see what I had. Turns out this wine retails from anywhere between $999.00 to $2300.00 a bottle depending on condition and these fine French wines turn a darker Amber color the older they get. When I found this out I jumped up and headed back to the estate sale as fast as I could because I was sure there was more of this wine left. Sadly when I got there wasn’t anymore Chateau d’Yquem left.

I ended up agreeing to a price of $1200.00 for the pair of Chateau d’Yquem to a guy who sells rare wines on the internet and have since cashed the check and to celebrate I took my little wife out to a very nice restaurant in Flossmoor Il (same town I bought the wine) and splurged on a $10.00 glass of wine with my meal and that’s about as high-end as I get with my wine.

Final Note

The rest of the wine I bought wasn’t worth very much and should have been drunk when the wine was much younger. We did drink the 1966 Chateau De Briante, a red wine and I must say it was the best tasting wine I have ever had.

 

 

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Bought Rare Wine Worth Thousands At an Estate Sale for $4.00

  1. Jocelyncromwell says:

    Ha ha! I love this story!!

  2. What a great story! I hope you saved the bottle from the wine you drank to decorate your farm house with. It will make a great conversation piece! That was a really nice profit you made!

Leave a Reply

