Searching For An ATV

 

ATV

We are continuing to plan for when we build our log home, with things like designing our kitchen, planning what we are going to do this coming year and searching for an ATV to name a few.

Actually its my wife Niki who wants to buy a ATV now so when we go to our farm this coming year and camp she can put it to work and we don’t have to drive our new truck on our bottom ground and take a chance of getting it stuck again. The plan is to buy two of them but I think I will wait until after our home is built to buy mine because I won’t be able to use or enjoy it much until then.

We went to Chicago motorcycle show this year to look for one but that was a bust, there was only about 8 atvs at the show and only a two companies had them. We where real disappointed, but we ended up going to several dealers that had most of the atv brands that are sold in this country like Kawasaki, Yamaha, Suzuki, Honda, Polaris, Artic Cat, and Cam-Am. My wife has decided she wants a Can-Am. I have to admit they seem to be built just a little better then the other brands and their price is also a little higher. So far it has been real disappointing when seeing an advertised price and then going to the dealership and then the dealer starts adding destination, dealer prep and freight charges, it adds an additional 1000 bucks to the price of the atv and its seems all the dealers in the Chicago area do this. We have found a dealer in Chariton Iowa http://www.cc-cycle.com/that says they don’t do that and the price they have listed is the price. Imagine that, a company not trying to deceive you. That’s why we like these Iowans no phony baloney bull. The next time we go to the farm we are going to check them out and let you know how it turns out.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Searching For An ATV

  1. RICK WEISS says:

    I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND THE ARTIC CAT TBX 650. IF YOU WANT A WORK HORSE THIS IS THE MACHINE TO HAVE. I USE MINE ON MY TREE FARM TO PULL TREES OUT AND CARRY ALL MY TOOLS (CHAIN SAWS AND CHAINS ETC.) NOT THE FASTEST BUT SURE HAS A LOT OF POWER.

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    My Kubota RTV is not technically an ATV, and it only goes top speed of 25 mph, but it is the most-used piece of equipment on our farm. Our dealer talked us out of souped-up options, actually! We already bought 2 tractors and a lawn mower from them, so we knew they were honest. I LOVE my “Doodad,” as I call it because “Kubota RTV” is too much of a mouthful to remember. 🙂 It pulls our small manure spreader fully loaded, pulls the harrow, has a dump bed, carries a tool kit box full of everything you could possibly need for the farm, and calls the cattle and horses to it just by going out in the pasture because they know it carries treats. It can carry a load of kids and grandkids out to see something or for a run down the road. I keep it constantly in 4 WD and haven’t gotten it stuck yet. 🙂 I’m sure whatever you get, you’ll find a myriad of ways to put it to work!

    • Thanks Susan, we like our Kubota tractor so we know their UTV would be good too. We have thought about buying a UTV but we don’t want to be just a rider, we both want to drive and that’s basically it. I know the UTV would be more practical, but not as much fun.

  3. Langela says:

    I would recommend a utv. We have a Polaris Ranger. We use it for everything on the farm. An atv will get you from one place to another, but the utility vehicle will allow you to load/ dump debris, carry tools, feed, etc. I’d also recommend checking out the Polaris dealer in Ottumwa. We have never been happy with the Chariton dealer. They are not as honest as you might think. There is also a dealer in Indianola that we use sometimes. But we buy our vehicles from Ottumwa. Also, check out Des Moines’ Craigslist. We have bought a lot of the kids’ atvs on there. In fact just bought a nice 250cc a few weeks ago for $1100. Again, our Ranger is one of the best purchases we’ve made for the farm. And Polaris has made the utvs the longest, I think. My husband thinks they’re the best, even though we’ve had a Kawasaki Mule. Seeing them all the time through his work, that’s what he recommends. He could even have gotten his “store brand” at cost, but chose the Ranger instead.

    • Thanks for the tip about Ottumwa, I will look them up tonight and see what they have. I might go with the Polaris myself when I buy one but my wife has her heart set on can-am. I look at craigslist all the time and will have to check out Des Moines craigslist. Thanks Langela you always have some good ideas.

  4. I’m with your wife, I like a little smaller version so I can jump off and catch a calf easier. I’ve always been partial and had good luck with Hondas. I would buy locally if I were you.
    My parents have a UTV and like it a lot. Depends on what you want to do with it.

  5. Thanks Mathew, I think that’s good advise to buy locally.

  6. Bill says:

    For what it’s worth, we have a Kubota RTV 900 and it is a workhorse here. It’s a diesel, which cranks quickly and reliably in the cold. The dump bed has been a big help to us. We use it to haul hay, rocks, compost, crates of vegetables and any thing else that needs hauling. It’s one of the wisest purchasing decisions we made.

  7. Thanks for your input Bill, that 900 is a big one, and I am sure it would be a workhorse. We won’t get one that big and at this time I am not sure what we will get. I think a UTV would be more practical then an ATV so its something we will have to think on.

Leave a Reply

