Your Chance To Get Started In Farming Now

This is a farm for sale only about 13 miles from our farm.

This is a farm for sale only about 13 miles from our farm.

If you are looking to get started in farming, here is a opportunity for you. I get updates on farms for sale everyday from Zillow and every now and then a great deal comes on the market and those are the ones I like to share with my readers, and this is a good one.

This is a 40 acre farm with a house, wooden barn, metal storage building, pond, and pastures with a bit of timber that would make someone a great pasture based farm and only priced at 145,000 dollars. The property taxes are only 1,266 dollars a year and is on a lightly traveled paved highway so you can keep your vehicles cleaner than gravel roads will. These parcels don’t come on the market that often and when they do they don’t last long.

House is livable and with a little TLC would make a great little homestead.

House is livable and with a little TLC would make a great little homestead.

The land is already sectioned off for rotational grazing and has been used for cattle and hay ground.

This farm is already set up for cattle.

This farm is already set up for cattle.

This farm also has a large stocked pond for livestock watering or recreational fishing.

You can see here the large pond and hay bales that were made on this farm.

You can see here the large pond and hay bales that were made on this farm.

Lucas Farm 4

You can see more pictures of this farm http://www.remax.com/realestatehomesforsale/54156-us-hwy-65-lucas-ia-50151-gid700013773045.html. If you are looking for a small homestead, you can’t go wrong with this one, but don’t wait to long to decide. It won’t last long.

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Iowa Farms for sale. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Your Chance To Get Started In Farming Now

  1. Jewels says:

    Looks like a great place! 🙂

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    That looks great! Sure you don’t need some extra grazing land and a house to rent out? 🙂 Too bad it’s in Iowa, because I just don’t think I could do Iowa winters. It sure makes me wish we weren’t completely “forest-locked” here with absolutely no adjoining grazing land available. I’d love to keep a few more Dexters!

  3. adieurbs says:

    I can’t believe the price. What a deal. If only retirement were closer, I’d be right there in a heartbeat. I would have to grow all I needed to make beer though. So that would be the good news for the neighbours I guess, home grown beer, just down the road. Maybe one day. Glad to see you are having a good time out there Gordon. Cheers!

    • Thanks coach for checking it out. It would be pretty cool having you as a neighbor to try your home brew. It looks like this one has already been sold, it was on the market for less than a week and now is off the market. I bet one the realtors who had it listed ended up buying it. It was that good of a deal.

      • rob wilson says:

        Hi Gordon! my friend Lisa bought the property last week. And yes, she is a realtor. I looked at it today, and it was a great deal at that price. She is an awesome realtor, and if your looking for property, plz message me on facebook, and i will give u her #.

Leave a Reply

