What We Are Doing Now

We just bought this new camper at the Chicago boat and camper show.

We just bought this new camper at the Chicago boat and camper show.

Even though we are not planning to build our log home for another 14 months we haven’t been sitting on our duffs. There are still lots of things that we have to do and plan before that day comes and this is what we are doing now to help us get ready for when that day comes.

boat-show-pic

We just went to the 2015 Chicago Boat and RV Show at McCormick Place and had a great time. If you have never been there before you should plan to take a trip to Chicago and see it for yourself it is well worth your time and the prices are amazing. It is huge and you would be hard presed to see everything in one day even if you spent the whole day there. All the manufactures there are trying to promote their brand and are selling at wholesale prices. If you are looking at buying a boat, camper or RV you should make the trip to Chicago next year in January and go to this show, you won’t be sorry that you did.

New camper kitchen.

New camper kitchen.

We went to the show to look at pontoon boats because someday that is something we would like to buy when we retire so we can go fishing and take the grandkids tubing. We didn’t have any plans to buy a camper, but once we saw the campers and the prices they were going for we thought would buy one and live in this when we are building our log home. After the home is built then sell it, that way we wouldn’t have to rent a place in Iowa and we can be there right on the job site to look after all our building material.

There are many more things we have been up to that I plan to post but I don’t want to blow all my posting material in this one post, got keep my readers interest up, until then more pictures of our new camper below.
Camper bed

Camper

Kitchen 1

outside

Right side

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Our Log Home. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to What We Are Doing Now

  1. Tamicia Coleman says:

    Great idea!

  2. Carol says:

    Gordon: Wonderful news. I was in Madison last weekend, my daughter and son-in-law live there on the isthmus between Lake Mendota and Lake Menona. Really good restaurants. Madison Sourdough, has great breakfast. Enjoy, safe travels.

  3. Jewels says:

    Omygosh I’m sooo envious of your new camper! How fun and what a great idea!
    But, did you guys find a pontoon…?

  4. Jocelyn says:

    Camper looks fantastic! Great idea to use it instead of renting. Another adventure!

  5. Langela says:

    It’s amazing how small a camper can get once you’re living in it. But you don’t have kids in there with you. However, it gets clean just as quickly (my favorite part). And with the outside as part of your living quarters, it will be so fun! We have a big boat and rv show in Des Moines, too. Maybe you’ll find a pontoon there.

  6. Zephyr Hill says:

    Lovely camper! They’ve improved a LOT since we bought a used 16-footer back in 2006 to eat in while our kitchen was being ripped out and remodeled. We lived in a pretty snooty residential area, and when our vet, who lived in the same community, found out that we had a camper parked in our driveway, he about died laughing. 🙂 But it was really wonderful, and I missed it when it was gone. At the time I had two ferrets who were used to having the run of the house, but with all the remodeling going on, they couldn’t run free any longer. They slept in their cage upstairs, and then I let them have the run of the camper during the day. That made it even more fun for us–it was pretty fun that they could use their claws to climb up the kitchenette benches and hop to the table. 🙂 One of them was SO frustrated that I kept the bathroom door shut, and he used to go on his belly outside it and scratch and scratch his little paws, trying to dig his way under the door; he’d dig for 15 or 20 minutes at a time. So if you find life in a camper a bit boring when you come in from a long day’s work outside, you might consider a ferret or two! 😉

  7. I think that’s a great idea. I think you’ll really appreciate being on-site during the build so you can be right there to see every detail and make informed decisions.

    And I wouldn’t worry too much about living temporarily in a camper. My husband, daughter and I moved from a 5 bedroom 4 bath home into a tiny 1 bedroom house in order to make our move to our Iowa acreage this past July. It is easy especially during the summer when we’re outside all the time. And while it took some adjustment as the weather turned colder this fall and winter, we’re faring well and doing just fine with it.

    • Thanks Trudy, I appreciate you letting me know what it is like living in a small place for an extended period. Hope things continue to go well the rest of the winter for you and your family.

  8. Megan says:

    We go to the Boat Sport and Travel show with the Deer and Turkey Expo every year. It’s the one thing we look forward to every Jan/Feb. We just like going to look around at all the campers…some seem nicer than our house!

  9. Bill says:

    Congrats! It looks great!
    My wife has been saying for a while that she’d like us to move out of our house and into a travel trailer. She’s not joking about that. I think she’d love to live in one like yours. Very wise decision it seems to me. Now you can be directly on site at all times while building. Looking forward to continuing to follow you on your journey.

  10. Carol Ray says:

    When delays occur, they are full of purpose. I know you two have plans. But enjoy the countdown, your time is coming. Be blessed.

  11. Thanks Carol, I am now just starting to enjoy the countdown.

  12. Cool. I have been looking for a nice used camper or a bus to turn into an RV. I saw your pictures are from General RV, I happen to know one of the owners of the company. Have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

