Earlham Iowa Farm For Sale

Earlham Farm 3Everyday I am still on the lookout for a farm that is for sale in Iowa that we would be willing to sale ours for. The farm we currently own is more suited for hunting than farming and we would love to find a farm with better farm ground and a house already on it that is still within our budget. This farm near Earlham Iowa fits that bill.

GoogleEarth_Image

You can see the big pond in the middle of the pasture on this farm.

This is a 38 acre farm that has a 3 bedroom and 3 bath house on it, with an old barn and pond is what we are looking for. I look at hundreds of farms for sale in Iowa and Missouri and I know a good bargan when I see it and this one is priced to sale at 178,500.00

Why We Like This one

Earlham Farm 6

The house looks like it has good bones, but the old garage looks like it needs torn down.

We like this one because all of the acres is useable for pasture farming. We also like the fact it has a house already on it. We also  love trees, they provide beauty, shade and help lower utility cost and this  house is surrounded by mature trees. At our current farm there aren’t any trees around the building site and it will take years for some to grow that will help shade the house.

Great location

We also like where this farm is located. It is only about a 30 min drive west of Des Moines, so if my wife Niki wants to keep working off the farm it would be a easy commute.

Great Old Barn and Farm Buildings

The listing says all the farm buildings are of no value, but to me the old barn still looks like it is restorable.

The listing says all the farm buildings are of no value, but to me the old barn still looks like it is restorable.

Earlham Farm 7

The old corn crib on this farm.

For those of you who have been following my blog for long know I love old barns. I did a post about it “Memories Of Old Barns” . To me, having an old barn on your farm is romantic and brings me back to my childhood when we used to go visit my mothers sisters on their farm. I have always been envious of  farms of bloggers I follow that have old barns on their place, so this farm having an old barn is a big plus.

Great view of the pond

Great view of the pond

The House Needs Lots of Work

We have learned from our past searches you can’t always tell how a place is by the pictures. So we hope this one is as good as it looks by the pictures.

Hardwood floors and lots of natural light in this house.

Hardwood floors and lots of natural light in this house.

The kitchen is going to need lots of work.

Earlham Farm 8

The more I look at this farm the more I think this could be the one, but I am not the worst critic in our household, that title belongs to my wife. She is good at spotting the flaws in places we look at. We plan to look at this farm soon and when we do we will report how it went.

I was waiting to post this tomorrow so no one would beat us to this property, but I just got off the phone with the realtor and this property has already been sold. I knew this one wouldn’t last long at that price. Better luck next time.

You can see more photos and the listing here http://www.iowarealty.com/aspx/findahome/listingdetail.aspx?list_numb=425347 Let me know what you all think on this one.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Iowa Farms for sale. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Earlham Iowa Farm For Sale

  1. adieurbs says:

    Looks good Gordon, but too bad you missed it. Better luck on the next one. I really liked the variety of buildings. As a former “House with good bones” owner, I would say they are always worth the effort if you have the time. Beautiful land as well. You are making me want to retire to Iowa! Unfortunately I have 20+ years to go. Cheers!

  2. Walt says:

    Looks like a diamond in the rough to me. I also love old barns too. They add a lot of character to a farm and can be functional too! That is the one thing that our place is missing.

  3. Darn! I was starting to get excited for you, despite the kitchen! I had already looked at the aerial view to see how you could make intensive grazing paddocks in a pie shape so that they would have access to the pond and each one have some shade. I was going to ask for photos inside the barn when you went to see it. I’m really bummed for you!

    However, as the mother of a real estate agent, I want to remind you that “sold” is a relative term. Is it “sold” as in “there is an offer that has been accepted” or is it “sold” as in “closing has already taken place?” I had relatives whose home was “sold” and they were waiting for closing to happen, but the sale fell through because the financing fell through. The farm we have today is ours because it had several serious offers on part of it, but once the owner’s bank and then the buyer’s bank objected and the sale fell through. Is it really sold and the new owners have the keys?

    If so, I’m so sorry for your disappointment–and I sure hope they preserve that barn! Keep us posted . . .

    • Thanks Susan, I will call the realtor and let them know I would pay what they sold it for if the deal falls through. That is good advise and I appreciate you mentioning that and I will keep you all posted if that changes. I too was bummed but what can you do.

  4. Langela says:

    Hey, tried to email a couple of links for places I found on Craigslist. They got returned. Is your email the same as it was? Let me know.
    http://desmoines.craigslist.org/reb/4071450825.html
    http://desmoines.craigslist.org/reo/4110824391.html

Leave a Reply

