How to Build a Mini Hoop House

Mini Hoop House As we stay on this road of becoming farmers we continue to work on our gardening skills and we are always experimenting on new plants and gardening Ideas. Gardening helps placate my farmer soul until I can start farming full-time. What we are doing now here in the city we plan to do on a larger scale when we move to our farm. This spring  my wife wanted to get a jump on spring gardening and asked me to build her a small green house or hoop house, so I came up with this mini hoop house. It has really helped this spring getting a jump on our garden with the weather being so cold and wet. This only took about 2 hours to build and only 40 dollars worth of material.

material for the mini hoop house

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cut your framing the width of your wire for the arch. I bought this at Home Depot in the cement department, it is used in place of rebar in concrete so it doesn’t crack. It is 31/2 feet wide by 7 feet long.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used 3 1/2″ wood screws to put frame together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The frame is 31/2′ by 4′ with 2×6 construction on the bottom and 2×2 on top. Then add your hinges.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add your wire panel to the frame.

Put on your plastic and add a handle so you can open it up during the hot day and then close it at night when the temperatures get close to frost

Put on your plastic and add a handle so you can open it up during the hot day and then close it at night when the temperatures get close to frost

dig out the sod where you are going to set your hoop house.

dig out the sod where you are going to set your hoop house.

Then fill the whole thing with compost or garden soil it took about 4 bags to fill it up.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s it pretty simple to build and it really helped this past spring getting a jump on our garden. Once the chance of frost has past you can take the top off or if you want to plant cucumbers, tomatoes, or pole beans you could just take the plastic off and you would already have a trellis in place.

.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also tried something new with my tomatoes plants this year, I got tired of using those cheap cone-shaped wire cages that you buy at most garden centers and Home Depot’s. I used the Florida weave this year. I modified it a little to make it even better so my next post will be about the Florida weave and the rest of what we do here in the city to garden.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How to Build a Mini Hoop House

  1. Beth Hendred says:

    could you explain what the Florida Weave is that your using for your tomatoe plants?

    BETH HENDRED Date: Thu, 18 Jul 2013 14:51:20 +0000 To: bhendred@live.com

  2. This is fantastic! Thank you for the clear tutorial. My poor hubby–one more thing on his honey-do list! 🙂

  3. purlygirl2 says:

    I try not to give Gordie too many items on the honey-do list but I had to have this mini hoop house and I absolutely love it. I also put a thermometer inside it so that I could look and see how warm it was inside the hoop house. On a 30-40 degree day outside it was at least 65 degrees in the hoop house and that temperature was maintained at night, too. I also set up a database to track growth rates and expectations and the standard deviation for each. -Niki M (aka Gordie’s Wife)

Leave a Reply

