Chariton Iowa Farm For Sale

A farm we looked  recently looked at in June

I still haven’t given up the idea of finding  a farm with better farm ground then the one we currently have. I would love to get a farm that I could use the whole 40 acres as pasture and were I could cut my own hay. A farm with a house already on it that needs some work so I could fix it up the way we want it and I wouldn’t have to start from scratch like putting in septic system, water, electric, driveway and then build the house,  like I have to do now with our current farm. All with in our budget so we wouldn’t have to go into much debt. When I came upon this listing I thought I had found just the place and we drove to Iowa to look at it.

On paper it had good pasture ground and a house with a big pole barn already on it. The whole 40 acres of the property was already fenced and all of it could be used as pasture with some areas for  cutting hay. It also has a stocked pond on it to provide water for your livestock. It is in the area we want to live only about 5 miles from our current farm.Lucas county farm 5Lucas county farm 1

The listing is here http://www.zillow.com/homedetails/46428-170th-Ave-Chariton-IA-50049/87003163_zpid/

When we got there and pulled up into the drive we were not disappointed with the way the land and the house looked from the outside. The pole barn was much bigger then our barn and we were excited to see on the inside of the house.Lucas county farm 4

But sadly my wife and I didn’t like the house on the inside and it had some major foundation issues that would have to be fixed. The house sits on a crawl space that didn’t use cement blocks on a poured footing. They used 2×6’s on the footings which would have been ok if the house wasn’t cut into the hillside as you can see from the photo above. Part of the crawl space framing was starting to rot which caused flooring to be unlevelled.  All the floors were uneven. It can be fixed but we didn’t want to have to do all of that so we didn’t make an offer and for now, we will keep our current place. The price of this property is only 159,000.00 and has great picturesque views and the ground would make a great pasture based farm,  so it is still a good deal for someone willing to do the work.

Here are some more photos of the farm below.Lucas county farm 3 Lucas county farm 6

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Iowa Farms for sale. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chariton Iowa Farm For Sale

  1. It’s got beautiful-looking pasture. I love the slightly rolling, but not-too-steep hills. But I don’t blame you at all for running away from a bad foundation. It could be more trouble and expense to fix than starting from scratch!

    Thanks for sharing your continued search. I’m glad you’re not giving up. And hey, you’ll either find something else you love–or be so glad you’ve got the one you’ve got!

  2. Andrew says:

    Too bad about the foundation, looks like a nice place otherwise. But who knows, maybe it’ll sit on the market long enough, come down in price, and make fixing the foundation worthwhile.

  3. Lorna says:

    I’d imagine Midlife farmwife’s farm is too far from you but it might be perfect – a 40 acre organic farm but suddenly I can’t remember if it is in Iowa or Illinois (am terrible with geography)!!

  4. Hi Lorna, I have seen that farm you are talking about and it is real close to me now and it is a very nice farm. It does have three things going against it, first it is in the state of Illinois and the farm ground is usually very flat and uninteresting. Second the state of Illinois is going broke and the property taxes are three times what they are in Iowa. Third the price is about 100,000 more then what I am looking for. I would love to get a small holding in the land of my ancestors, how much would a 10 hectare farm cost in Ireland?

  5. John says:

    Those are some really beautiful tomatoes there.

    When I was a kid we used to raise tomatoes and I dearly loved to go out into the sunny afternoon, salt shaker in hand, and eat a couple straight off the vine. The fragrance of tomato leaves is a heady perfume indeed.

    As to the “Round” bales of hay – – – well I have heard some livestock talking among themselves about “Round” bales and the usual complaint from the animals is that where there are round bales it is difficult to get a square meal.

    I do enjoy stopping by your blog from time to time because it takes me back to the days of sunshine, feeding the chickens, slopping the hogs, bailing the hay and the straw – – I much preferred straw – – -and when hay gets a little wet, forget it!

    How many times when I was a kid have I just laid down on a hay mound out in the middle of the field and slept for hours with a few little bugs buzzing around, the lazy clouds drifting slowly across an azure sky – – the lowing of cattle in the background – – a few snorts from a horse – – maybe the sound of a tractor – – – or in my day . . . the chug chug, clang, clang and whistle of an old steam-powered thrashing machine.

    Big tables overloaded with farmhand meals for workers – – some of which were hired from time to time – – home-churned butter, home-made jam – -blackberry is my favorite – – from my Mom;s blackberry patch – – fried fresh chicken all golden brown and tender – – Mom made hers in an old iron skillet. . . nothing but iron utensils can make proper fried chicken, you know – – biscuits fresh from the old wood-burning cookstove – – – the wood imparts a special subtle flavor to biscuits – – corn on the cob, fresh field greens as salad – – mashed potatoes – – gravy . . . usually gravy made from milk and flour – – fried apples – – “Eat all you want, there’s a-plenty!” Ummmmm!

    Straw hats to shade the eyes from the sun – – working from sunup to sundown – – collecting the eggs from the chicken coop really early in the morning – – I loved the way the chickens used to coo and cluck – – and my pet rooster used to peck me on the ankle if I tried to ignore him – – he loved for me to pick him up and stroke him and talk baby talk to him – – -followed me everywhere – – We had a one-horned goat that you simply dared not turn your back on – – he loved to butt – – –

    There were huge old black walnut trees and I can tell you it doesn’t take very much for a kid to crack and eat enough walnuts to become deathly sick on because they are so rich – – –

    Dark night out in the country – – stars that seemed to fill the sky and touch the ground – – no city lights to interfere with the natural wonders of the night – – the sound of tree frogs in the distance – – the barking of my dog seemed to be a long way off – – the shadows thrown by the light from our old flickering coal heating stove with the mica windows – – – the cold linoleum floors on a winter morning – –

    It all comes back to me when I visit your blog Mr. Milligan and that is why your blog is so special and so magic to me in these my waning years.

    Thank you for the experience.

  6. John says:

    You should contact the local Amish and ask what they would charge you to fix this house right, There is a colony of the down by Derby.

    • Thanks John for your comment, I have used those Amish to build my pole barn. They are hard workers and do a great job. Sadly this property was taken off the market soon after we looked at it. I now almost wish we would have pulled the trigger on it, it was well worth the money they were asking.

Leave a Reply

