Lucas County Farm

Some of the many trees of the Lucas county farm

For those of you who are just now following this, we are trying to sell our current farm and  we are in the process of looking for a farm with more pasture land. It had taken over a year of looking to find our first place and I thought we might have to look a long while before we found something we both liked, but on the second farm we looked at it was love at first sight.

Great views from the top of the hill at Lucas county farm

My heart had not gone pitter-patter like this since the first time I had seen my wife Niki. This farm had all we were looking for. It had the location, and was only about 3 miles from our current farm as the crow flies. It had the barns, fencing, ponds, headgate and water tanks were already set up and was being used for cattle.  It had the mature trees and good timber for hunting. It had a house that my wife liked with a new septic system. It had a big round roof metal shed that could be used for a calving shed or a hog barn.

The hay and cow shed on the farm, one of three buildings on this farm.

It even had a good-sized chicken coop with nesting boxes already in place.

You can see part of the chicken coop with this picture.

The property had rural water and  well water that you could use for the animals and a garden. It even had a big metal pole barn for our tractor and other toys we hope to someday get.

40 x 70 ft pole barn and back of house

The house needed lots of work on the inside but had good curb appeal.

This was a 160 acre farm that was 100,000.00 over our budget. I asked the realtor why he was showing us this one and he said his cousin owns it and he might subdivide it in half and we could put an offer on the 80 acres with the house and barns. I told him to make it happen and was hoping he could. Sadly they got an offer on the whole 160 acres that knocked our offer off the table, so we are back to square one. We could have bought this farm for 2,500.00 per acre if we bought the whole farm.

We are still looking for that perfect place and have less than 3 years to find one. I will keep you all up to date on our continued search. Until then, enjoy more pictures of this farm.

Looking at the farm from the top of the hill.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lucas County Farm

  1. Jewels says:

    I can see why your heart went pitter-patter over this place Gordon, it looks really great! Sorry it didn’t work out and best of luck as you keep looking. 🙂

  2. Langela says:

    That was unfair, Gordon! You got me all excited and ready to congratulate to guys and then you go and spoil it. Just kidding. It was a beautiful place and I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you. Keep us posted!

  3. cecilia says:

    The barn and the covered yards would have sold me.. ah well.. not to be. Which means there is something better out there. Three years is tons of time!.. More and more properties are coming on to the market around here too. Hand made signs going up on the side of the road. I am thrilled that you are looking for a place and then will bring it back to life with real farming, i hope you find a place with a fantastic barn.. that would be fun! They are out there you know.. c

  4. Zephyr Hill says:

    I was getting all excited for you to have found such a beautiful place so quickly–and then you let me down. I guess it’s only fair that your readers should share some of your letdown. I know you must have been so disappointed. It really was beautiful, but it will be exciting to join your search from afar. I’m sure when you do find THE place, you won’t regret this one anymore because the one you find will be so great!

  5. Thanks Susan, I know we will find a great place yet, what I can’t believe is how much farm ground has gone up since I bought my farm 3 years ago. Looks like we will have to go in dept to get what we want, this is what I am not thrilled about, this makes our current place more attractive. We will have to see what we find.

  6. John Copsy says:

    Hey, I like this one Gordon. That’s a great view from the top of the hill! Too bad it couldn’t happen, but I got a good feeling that you are gonna find the right place soon. Make sure it has a guest house! lol

Leave a Reply

