Milligan’s Gander Hill Farm For Sale

This is the big news I promised you from my last post. We have decided to sell the farm and now have it listed with a realty company. We have been at the farm this past week getting the farm ready to sell and looking at other farms. The more I learn about farming the more I realize that our current land would only be good for just a few head of cattle and probably not much more then that, I want to raise more then just a few. Our ground  is more suited as a recreational property. I have been thinking about this for a while and have been batting this back and forth since the first of the year. I am still not a 100% sure I will go through with this and this has been driving my wife crazy. I still want to farm 3 years from now, it is just a matter of finding a piece of ground that will be better suited for farming. This is a result of me not knowing what I was doing when I bought the farm with no farming experience. I am not going to pretend I now know a lot about farming… I am still just a beginner, but I now know more than I did when I bought our current place and hopefully I won’t make the same mistakes.

This will be an exciting time as we look for another farm and we promise to share it all with you and do posts of the farms we look at. We would also love to get your input as we go along, to help point out things that novices like us might not have considered. We will be looking for a farm that has better pasture ground with a house already on it, and with mature trees by the house. These are the things that we don’t like about our current place. What we do like about our current place is the timber for hunting and the pond and creeks on the property, these will also be things the new farm must have.

I realize that we will probably have to take on some debt to get the place we want, and this is what scares me. I still may decide that we are not ready to do that, so I warn you before hand. So please stay tuned to see what happens next.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Milligan’s Gander Hill Farm For Sale

  1. Langela says:

    Where will you be looking? Are you still looking down in this area? Why are you deciding to have more cattle? Are you planning to raise them to sell also? Having a house already done is one less thing you have to do. Also having barns is a good idea. And fencing. All those things cost quite a bit and would need to be done before starting your herd. I look forward to seeing what you guys look at. How many acres are you looking for? have I asked enough questions yet?

  2. Hi Langela, yes we are going to try and stay in the same area. That is one thing we really like about our current place is the location. On your second question, I would like to raise cattle for ourselves and to be a breeder to sell to other small farmers who want to raise cattle on grass only. There are hardly any Highland breeders in Iowa. It will be no big number but more then what my current land can hold. With most of my current farm ground is bottom land that floods about once a year, I only have about 4 acres I can rely on for pasture year round. I want the cattle to be the center piece of the farm.
    With a house already in place it will have a septic system. electrical, water and mature landscaping in place. Another 40 acres would be ok as long as most of the acres are in pasture, has a barn, pond, and the house is good. The farms we looked at this past week were 80 acre farms. I have no set number in mind but would like something 40 acres or more.

  3. Sandy Krell-Andre says:

    Good luck selling and finding a place to buy! I know this has to be a little blow with all the work you’ve put in.

  4. Wow, this is quite a development! There’s got to be some wonderful farm land up there; I’m sure you’ll be kept busy visiting places. Hopefully you can sell soon and take your time to find the place you want. I agree with you that pond and creeks are wonderful. The timber is nice, but the pastures are a must if you want to raise grass-fed beef. I hope you find the perfect place!

Leave a Reply

