I don’t have Lyme Disease

I am happy to report I don’t have Lyme Disease. I got the blood work information yesterday and it was negative. I am happy about that because lots of times there is no full recovery from it. It was a big enough scare I plan on using deepwoods off with deet every time we go out on the farm from here on out. My wife has been bugging me about that anyway, epically after I got into some chiggers and shared those with her:)

The bad news is, this means I just have bad arthritis which there is no cure. I also don’t know why I don’t have any energy. Maybe its like what I chalked it up to in the first place, old age and being over weight. I am sure if I could loose these extra pounds it would help tremendously.

I am home now laid up from work because I slipped on some urine on the platform at one of our train stations and fell and twisted my ankle. I will at least be laid up until Wednesday of next week. Its all just part of the many dangers of being a train conductor in Chicago.

Looking at the bright side, maybe I will have some time now to finish some post that I have started.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I don’t have Lyme Disease

  1. hope says:

    I heard about the unfortunate incident. I am glad it’s nothing too serious. Hope you feel better soon

  2. Jewels says:

    Gordon, I’m so happy to hear that you don’t have Lyme disease! Ugh, but I know what you mean about being bummed now because it means you have arthritis. :/ I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned in any of my posts that I have arthritis in both of my knees and have been told I’m looking at a double knee replacement at some point in my future. :( My Dad, my brother, and my sister have all needed to have at least one of their knees replaced (at fairly young ages) so it’s probably hereditary in my case, but I too could stand to lose a few pounds, I truly believe that would help alleviate some of my pain, which is tremendous, unfortunately. Sorry to hear about your accident, hope your twisted ankle mends quickly. Way to go, slipping on someones pee! ;)

    • Thanks Julie, I am sorry to hear about your knee arthritis too. The doctors tell me the same thing about getting my knees replaced. that’s something I am going to try and put off as long as I can. As far as slipping on some ones pee, I am just thankful it wasn’t something else if you know what I mean:)

  3. Langela says:

    Slipping in someone’s pee sounds like something I would get hurt doing! Sometimes it’s nice to have a break from doing anything, even if it’s a forced break. Maybe it will help your energy levels. After years of dealing with tremendous amounts of pain, I will tell you, your energy levels could be effected by the pain. Once my pain was managed to some degree I was amazed at how much energy I gained! Do you have regular arthritis or rheumatoid arthritis? I have both, but they are managed differently. Hopefully yours can be managed with over-the-counter meds. I am sorry to hear about it though, but glad you don’t have Lyme. Get better!

  4. Thanks Langela, I didn’t know you have both kinds of arthritis. You got it pretty young, it sounds like you got your pain down some. I think I just have regular arthritis and meds worked for me at first but not as much anymore. I may try some new ones. What do you suggest that I might try?

  5. grasspunk says:

    Well that’s better than Lyme Disease. Good news.

  6. Gordon, glad you don’t have lyme disease. Sorry about the arthritis. I too have mild to moderate arthritis in my lower back, but have been managing with Pilates and Ibuprofrin.

  7. Well, Gordon, where to start? Rejoicing in your good news, of course. SO glad you don’t have Lyme disease! Commiserating with your bad news next. Arthritis is NO fun, and I’m sorry you have to deal with it. I have experience with that, and yes, weight loss helps with that, too, but boy is that hard! No energy is no fun, either! Been there, done that. What helped me immensely was when my Dr. found my Vitamin D blood levels were on the low side of normal and suggested taking 2000 U of D per day. I’ve been doing that for a year and a half now, and what a difference! What I realized was that I had quit drinking store-bought milk and was drinking organic milk (and now our own) which are not Vitamin D fortified. I don’t know if that could be any help to you, but I hope so.

    Slipping in urine on the train platform? Oh wow, why on earth? Not you–the person that did it! At least in France they go in the stairwells where they can do it in relative privacy! (You just have to hold your breath in public stairwells, but if you stay out of the corners, you won’t slip!) Bless your heart. And prepare for the next time that happens to be COW urine! I jumped up during milking the other day to grab the big metal dustpan and shove it under my cow’s rear end when she raised her tail to poop. I tripped over the rubber stall mat and went down hard on both knees. At least I have some interesting bruises to admire, and I managed to spill only a bit of milk. I missed the poop, though, as I was groaning on my knees. :( I do hope you’ll be able to manage both your conditions and get back to feeling full of pain-free energy soon.

  8. Thanks Susan, someone else told me about vitamin D 3 so I will try that and I appreciate you mentioning it. I will try anything at this point. Sorry to hear about your own spill while not spilling any milk. Sorry I had to laugh while picturing that.

    I have been having a hard time commenting on your site. Half the time I get an error message and the other times it says I am not the owner of the domain and I choose of my wordpress address. After I write a big reply on your site is when it does it and I can’t get it sent. I just give up at that point. Just thought I would let you know. I think its because blogger and wordpress don’t get along now and they want make it difficult. Then again it could be just your spam blocker that you use.

  9. cathylee says:

    I’ve had the same trouble with Susan’s site.

    I’m not a believer in the Lyme disease mass hysteria. You’re much more likely to be cured of Lyme disease than degenerative joint problems. Hope you are back to normal very soon.

  10. steve says:

    I missed this post back in June, & i’ve only just come accross it now, lol. Really pleased to hear you dont have Lymes Disease Gordon, but I feel for you, what with having Arthritis (not nice). I hope you’re feeling better now & hope everything is getting back to normal.

Leave a Reply

