Lyme Disease

My friend Tom and his Sheep.

My friend Tom and his Sheep.

My friend Tom who lives by our farm called me the other day and told me he was diagnosed with having Lyme Disease. He had been having many medical issues for the last several years and doctors he had been seeing, missed diagnosed on all ailments and his health never improved.. He was searching the internet to see what could be causing  his problems and his symptoms were like Lyme Disease. He mentioned this to his doctor and then did a blood test and he was found to have the disease. He said he is now taking megdoses of antibiotics and said he is feeling better then he has in a long time and hopefully he is on the road to full recover. Not everyone responds and recovers from the disease.

Tom is not the only friend that I know that has gotten Lyme Disease in Iowa. Another friend was turkey hunting the spring before last,  near our farm and had gotten bitten by a tick and noticed a red bullseye rash had developed at the spot he was bitten.. He got his self  checked and was lucky he had gotten  diagnosed early.

I tell you this because I too have found ticks on  me on several occasions  when we go to our farm and I am having some symptoms that could be from the disease. Last fall I had  gotten bitten by chiggers on our farm and wrote about it in my post titled “Chiggers a hard lesson learned” At the same time I found some ticks too.

Symptoms of Lyme Disease

One of the first symptoms is a red bullseye rash at the area where you were bitten. I didn’t notice any red bulls eyes but with all the chigger bits I had, I might have missed it or in about 20% of the cases no bulls eye developed.

The next thing that one might experience is to have flu like symptoms a week or more after the bite. I had flu like symptoms about 10 days after I had the chigger bites,  I did a post “The New Gander Hill Pond” and mentioned it towards the end of that post when we were back at our farm 10 days after the chigger bites.

Another symptom is what they call Lyme arthritis and this usually happens in the knees. I have been having almost constant knee pain since around the first of the year. I have just been writing it up to arthritis and old age but nothing seems to help it.

Me watering some of our fruit trees on our farm

Me watering some of our fruit trees on our farm

The last symptom I have is I have been very fatigued and wasn’t sure why. I just chalked it up to working 12 hour days and not being as young as I used to be. With my knees hurting and me being so tired I was having lots of doubt whether I was going to be able to build our pole barn house once I retired.

I don’t know if I have Lyme disease but will let all know when my blood work comes back.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lyme Disease

  1. Zephyr Hill says:

    Wow, Gordon, I really hope you don’t have Lyme Disease! However, it sounds like it could explain a lot of things. I hope to hear some good news soon–that you just needed vitamins and Tylenol. But please keep us posted. And thanks for the warning. So sorry for your friend, too.

    • Thanks Susan, I appreciate your concern. My friend was happy that he found out he had Lyme Disease because at least he knew finally what he had and he could get treatment for it. In a way I will be glad too,
      at least I could get treated and my knee pain might go away. At this point I am looking at cortisone shots in both knees and them maybe knee replacements down the line.

  2. Jewels says:

    So sorry to hear about your friends contracting Lyme disease Gordon, and really hoping your blood work comes back normal. Sending well wishes and prayers your way…

  3. grasspunk says:

    Good luck with the bloodwork, Gordon. Keep us informed – folk here get Lyme disease too and it is worth knowing more about it. Best wishes to your friend.

  4. Carol Ray says:

    Good to hear you don’t have Lyme Disease. Regarding your slip and fall, consider it this way; you must have needed the rest. Be grateful for small favor!

Leave a Reply

