How To Plant a Food Plot for Deer, Turkey, Geese and Ducks.

This is an old barn on I 80 that we always go by when we go to our farm in southern Iowa.

This is an old barn on I 80 that I have been meaning to take a picture of when we go by it on our way to our farm in southern Iowa. I finally did it this trip.

To plant a food plot for deer, turkey, geese and ducks all you need is some good soil, good seed and the proper amount of moisture and you too will be successful in a planting a great food plot for wildlife.

When we planted our pasture seed along  the area where we had our pond dug out we had not planned to plant a food plot for the local wildlife but that is exactly what we have done. When we went to our farm recently and pulled up and looked at our pond we could see lots of new green grass and at least 4 geese and a half-dozen ducks eating our new pasture like they were at an all you could eat buffet.

We planted a good mixture of grasses like tall fiscue, orchard grass, prennial rye grass, Alfalfa, White Clover, Red Clover, and Timothy for our area around our pond.

In this picture you can see the good mixture of grasses like tall fescue, orchard grass, Perennial Rye grass, Alfalfa, White Clover, Red Clover, and Timothy we planted around our pond.

When we got down to the area we planted to inspect it better, we saw lots of tracks from deer, turkey, geese, ducks and many more animals we didn’t recognize and it looks like all have been dining on our new grasses. We don’t mind seeing lots of wildlife eating our grass. That is what we look forward to seeing when we move there, but wished they would have waited some until the roots on the grasses had a chance to grow deeper so when the animals eat the grass it wouldn’t pull the grasses up by roots and all.

This pasture would have been better if the local wildlife would have let it get established more.

This pasture would have been better if the local wildlife would have let it get established more.

The animals thought we planted it all just for them, we are not complaining, it’s all good and has turned out well. We even planted another 40 lbs of seed but not sure we will get the required rain to make it germinate. I guess time will tell.

We couldn’t mow down around our trees that are planted on our bottom ground because of the recent flooding and it was still to wet and muddy. We did mow up on our building site and we did find some troubling things going on with our fruit trees and I will do a post about that soon. Until then enjoy some more pictures of our recent visit to our farm and of the old barn at the top of the page.

Click on all pictures to enlarge them.

Gander Hill

If you look closely, you will see 3 geese that retreated to Gander Hill when we came down to look at our grass. I am sure they have done that many times to avoid predators on our farm.

Gander Hill Pond

This is how it all used to look around our pond this time of year before we had our pond dug out and piled the dirt around the pond.

North Pasture

Our North pasture is looking good after we mowed it this past fall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How To Plant a Food Plot for Deer, Turkey, Geese and Ducks.

  1. Jocelyn Cromwell says:

    The pictures are fantastic. I feel spring in the air! I was expecting something else with the title. I was laughing and groaning for you. Happy Spring!

  2. I was expecting that you had planted for the wildlife intentionally. Sorry they weren’t polite enough to let the grass get well-rooted before they dug in! Our chickens love grass, so I can guess the wild birds do, too. We have a single tom turkey that’s been visiting with our cattle and horses in the back pasture. I guess any other animal that won’t eat him is preferable to living alone, poor guy.

    I’ll be waiting to hear about your poor fruit trees. I’m sorry there’s troubling news. Herb is about to give up on ours, but since we finally got an arbor up for my grapes, they are at long last taking off. I think they’re trying to show up the fruit trees that have been coddled for the past five years and have yet to produce one edible piece of fruit!

  3. Thanks Susan, I feel sorry for that lone turkey that hangs out in your back pasture with your horses and cattle too. He must really be lonely.
    Fruit trees can be tuff to finally start producing fruit and I don’t know if our peach and cherry trees will make it but I have tried and we will keep our fingers crossed. I will soon let you know what it was that got to them. I am sure your trees will be fine and sometime it takes awhile before they start.

  4. Bill says:

    The best thing about that kind of mix is that not only is it good for the wildlife but it’s great for your soil as well. Hopefully they’ll let some of it go to seed. I use the “wildlife mixes” that our local feed stores sell as a fall cover crop.

  5. Thanks Bill, I hope they let so go to seed too. I am sure they won’t eat it all. I know farmers just expect that so much of there crop will be eaten by wildlife.

Leave a Reply

