Flooding on Gander Hill Farm

Gander Hill Pond flooded My friend Tom called me today and said he went to our property to see if we had any flooding from the recent 4 inches of rain they had there. He said it had flooded and sent me some pictures. It looks like all of the straw we put down over our grass seed has washed away and probably all of our grass seed as well. All the money we spent for grass seed, gas driving there, and motel room has been all wasted. I was hoping it wouldn’t flood until the grass seed had germinated and started to grow so we wouldn’t have much erosion, but we were not so lucky.  I am sure we had lots of erosion as well. It is times like these when I think about selling and buying some better farm ground.

We don’t plan on going back to the farm to put more seed down. What ever seeds the flooding has brought will have to do. One good thing, the pond is now full.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Farm Report. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Flooding on Gander Hill Farm

  1. purlygirl2 says:

    Well that was depressinh

    -Niki

    >

  2. Langela says:

    I’m sorry your hard work and money was wasted, but the pond looks nice. Grass or native weeds will grow on their own, though, and if you mow it it will turn nice. If it’s always flooded, it may not matter anyway. Don’t be discouraged, Gordon, it will be fine. Have a great Easter weekend!

    • Thanks Langela for your encouragement, you are right the pond looks nice and some grass will still grow and some native weeds. My friend Tom now thinks maybe the water didn’t get as high as he first thought and it might not have flooded on the levy where the seed was planted. He thinks the straw might have just got blown away from some of the strong winds they had there. Either way I didn’t mean to sound so depressinh as my wife commented. I am sure it will be fine one way or the other.

  3. Jocelyn says:

    Oh what timing :( It is a grand pond! What the heck is mother nature up to!?Best wishes for less devastation than you imagine.
    Jocelyn

    • Thanks Jocelyn, I know what timing. If it just could of held off for another week or two. Now I know what other farmers feel like every time they plant seed in the ground, its all just a gamble.

  4. Bill says:

    Sorry about this, but maybe Nature will surprise you and give you lots of great grass there anyway. I hope so. I do understand your frustration. We’ve had about 4 inches of rain here over the past couple of weeks leaving gullies in my gardens and lots of washed-away seeds and plants. It happens.

    I think you’re making the right decision. Just let nature take it from here until fall. You might consider just broadcasting some seed then in any bare spots.

    Best wishes.

  5. Thanks Bill, sorry to hear about all the rain you have had too.

  6. pam says:

    So Sorry to hear this hope its not as bad as you think it may be.

Leave a Reply

