Let it Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow

Snowing in Park Forest

Looks like we have at least of foot of snow and its still snowing. With temperatures expected to drop well below zero tonight it should be interesting how our trains will run tomorrow. There is something about sitting in a nice warm house with the smell of a chicken and rice dish in the oven and a bottle of good wine to make a person fill nice and snug with the weather being like it is. Hope you all are feeling the same.

About Gordon Milligan

I am a conductor for a commuter railroad in Chicago IL, I have bought a 40 acre farm in South Central Iowa that I plan to retire to in 3 yrs. I want to raise and grow most of my own food using sustainible and organic methods. I have a blog that journals my journey to becoming a farmer.
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Let it Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow

  1. Stay snug! We got everything ready for the cold this afternoon since Herb will be home late tomorrow night. We’re expecting 4° Monday night with a wind chill of -10°. (One of the guys on a Dexter board I belong to also has Highlands, and he says they wonder what all the fuss is about!) :) It’s raining out now and supposed to turn to snow overnight. I’m feeling very snug knowing that everyone’s tucked up tight!

  2. Langela says:

    Supposed to be 14 below tonight plus it is very windy so wind chills are even more dangerous and the snow is blowing everywhere. Stay warm!

  3. Woody says:

    I came down with a bad case of not freezing my ass off flu. The crew caller understands.

    • Lol, I hear ya Woody, it must be going around we had to annul several trains this morning because not enough man power to operate them.

      • Woody says:

        I drive 76 miles one way for a five day assignment. With our rural roads and state highways in as poor condition as they are I decided a long time ago that it is just not worth the personal risk.

  4. Jim Watland says:

    Gordon,
    Witness first hand the improvements you have made to your farm while many visits down to our friend Tom Stone. I’m amazed the difference you have made to your farm and future home.

    Wanted to let you know Tom has lost his phone while fishing on a recent ice fishing trip and has lost your contact information and wanted me to reach out to you and see if you can forward me your number to pass along.
    Please email me your number to pass along.
    (Tried to get it from brother Pat but all he had was old email)

    • Hi Jim, great to hear from you. That Tommy, he would lose his head if it wasn’t attached. Glad you have found my blog. How is your brother Pat doing? I have to get a hold of him and see how he is. I will contact you by email and give you my number. Don’t forget to sign up to follow my blog on the home page.

  5. John says:

    I remember chicken and rice! My Mom used to make that and it was really big again in the late 1950s. Great comfort food!

    Nothing like a warm dish of good home-cooked vittles, a fire in the fireplace . . . an easy chair . . a dog . . . the bottle of wine is a nice touch too . . . good for the heart . . .Yes I am loving the imagery of this article on your blog here – – – all the sights, sounds and scents of what a home really should be. Thanks for sharing and stay warm!

  6. Robert says:

    Gordon,
    Hey it Robert over at APB Pole Barns. I found your blog and read about your adventures buying your farm. You have a talent for writing I think. Stay warm up there and look forward to you finishing your journey!

Leave a Reply

